NAVIGATION

Gear Review – Inov-8 2013 Roclite 268

Share

In 2013 Inov-8 has made a huge push in the running marketplace. They have revamped almost all their shoes it seems in the last year. It started during 2012 and is carrying over into 2013. We saw the introduction of the Trailroc line of trail running shoes as well as this year a new line of road running shoes. Inov-8 has gained a cult following in the Obstacle Course Racing world and already has roots embedded in trail and ultrarunning.

photo

This year the 2013 Roclite 268, is one of the many shoes which received an update. In the past we have reviewed for the 2011 Roclite 268 and 2012 Roclite 268. The 2013 edition of the shoe has received a facelift.

 

TECH SPECS:

Screen Shot 2013-04-17 at 6.26.07 PMWeight: 268 Grams/9.5OZ

Footbed: 6mm

Heel/Toe Differential: 9mm

Sole: Roclite

Sex: Women’s (although the men’s shoe is very similar just heavier)

The notable changes, other than the color, in the shoe are the rubber toe bumper is back and offers more coverage than past models. Which is perfect when you get a little tired and catch yourself on a rock or two. As well the toe box seems to be a little bit roomier in their shoe. It seems after years of feedback from runners, commenting on how narrow most of the Inov-8 shoes are that the 2013 models offer a little more room in the toe box on many of their new models. Overall, the shoe seems to be a little more rugged, a bit more durable and all around the workhorse of the Inov-8 fleet of shoes. This is my go to shoe when it come to long runs, marathons and ultra marathons.

 

Field Tested

Screen Shot 2013-04-17 at 6.26.37 PMAfter a few short runs in the new Roclite 268’s I put them to the test a couple weekends ago in the Bonneville Shoreline Trail Marathon. Up to date I had probably only put about 30 miles on the shoes so they were still pretty new, and basically doubled the mileage in one run. The race was a mix of packed trails, rocky terrain, long ascents, steep descents, and a creek bed running. The new Roclite’s held up the beating and when I paired them with a pair of Drymax socks not only did my feet feel happy at the end but also were blister free, and ready for a run the next day.

 

Overall, the Roclite 268’s are one of my favorite training shoes, and trail racing shoes. If you are not as comfortable in minimal shoes this is the perfect hi-bred for you with a 9mm heel to toe drop, it gives you the extra cushioning you need, while still offering a light weight shoe.

Screen Shot 2013-04-17 at 6.26.50 PM

Margaret Schlachter

About Margaret Schlachter

Margaret Schlachter is Founder of DirtinYourSkirt.com. She has been part of the OCR Community since 2010. When not working on the next article she can be found running from race-to-race. She is Editor-in-Chief of MudRunGuide.com. She authored the book Obstacle Race Training.
This entry was posted in Gear Review. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gear Review – Inov-8 2013 Roclite 268

  1. Leigh Duquette says:

    how does water/mud drain out of these?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to posts:


  •   Hyper Vest SXY and FIT from Hyperwear.com
  • Instagram

    • Celebrating my 35th birthday 🎂 by starting the day running part of the mountain getting a shot for tonight’s live show for the @noramchamps on the OCRWC Facebook Page.
    • Every once in a while I leave the mountains, get dressed up, and honor my family and their sporting achievements.
::
#halloffame #saratoga #alldressedup
    • New Podcast! @mythicmedicine - Amber Magnolia Hill joins the podcast to talk herbalism, ancestry, @michael.pollan latest book, plant medicine, and incorporating wild crafted medicines into your self care.
::
Find it on your favorite player or temp link my bio.
::
#medicinestories #mythicmedicine #herbalist #podcast #plantmedicine #womenpodcast #ancientwisdom #wildcraft
    • I felt like an addict on the trails this morning when we encountered tons of thimble berries. I could not stop eating them!
::
They look kinda like raspberries at first glance. For years we saw them on the trails and recently Forest learned what they were and that in fact they are edible.
::
It’s fun to combine trail running, foraging, some off trail exploring, and a little sun time all in one adventure with the family.
::
#getoutsideandexplore #thimbleberry  #runandforage #weekendadventures #trailrunninglife #utahisrad #optoutside  #mountainculture #livelifeoutside
    • Just a woman and her pups on the trail today. Climbing high, taking in the views, taking stupid selfies 🤳, and getting out in nature jamming out to Benny Goodman, Big Brass Bands, Frank, and more.
::
What’s your jam on the trails?
::
How do you keep it fun?
::
#mountaintime #wasatchmountains #millcreekcanyon #trailviews #headsweats #keepacoolhead #getoutside #weekdayadventures #utahisrad #utahgram #runningwithdogs #closetohome
    • Lindsay Webster @lindsaydawnwebster joins the podcast for a second time. This time around we chat about:
🎧📲
@b2bministries in India
🇮🇳
Everest Base Camp in Nepal
🇳🇵
Life in the #Adirondacks
⛰
Food
🍨
And some #OCR
🏃🏻‍♀️
::
Find it in your favorite player or temp link in bio.☝️
::
For Patreon Supporters she offered up a few of her recent favorite workouts. Find out how you can get access to her workouts in the link in my bio.
::
#obstacleracing #adventurer #inspiringwoman #trailrunningwomen #ocrchampion #ocr #toughmudder #spartan #ocrwc #adirondackmountains #traveler_stories
    • It doesn’t get much better then from forest gathering to dessert in a matter of hours.
::
I spend a lot of time thinking about exercise vs life and how to incorporate the two into one stacked activity.
::
This weekend was the perfect real world example - during our run/hike we stopped and took an hour to gather huckleberries. The movement of Berry picking worked a number of muscles and gave us food for dessert.
::
When life and workouts mesh into one.
::
#huntergatherer #huckleberry #huckleberrypie #glutenfree #foresttotable #gatheryourownfood #findyourfood #berryseason #adventurer #weekendgateaway #rungatherrun #headsweats #keepacoolhead
    • The sun shines down on me today in the pines. Quiet, peaceful, and full of life.
::
Saturday Feelings hidden away from the 🌎.
::
#saturdayvibes #mountaintime #meetmeinthepines #headsweats #getoutside #getlostinnature #keepacoolhead #naturecalling
    • Carli Jo @cannabissensualitycoach talks about going from a casting producer for The Bachelor to a Cannabis Sensual Coaching helping women get in touch with their authentic sexuality.
::
Find the temp link in the bio or on your favorite player.
::
#podcast #cannabisfeminist #sensualitycoach #womenpodcast #jadeegg #createyourdestiny

    Follow Me!