NAVIGATION

Gear Review – Inov-8 2013 Roclite 268

Share

In 2013 Inov-8 has made a huge push in the running marketplace. They have revamped almost all their shoes it seems in the last year. It started during 2012 and is carrying over into 2013. We saw the introduction of the Trailroc line of trail running shoes as well as this year a new line of road running shoes. Inov-8 has gained a cult following in the Obstacle Course Racing world and already has roots embedded in trail and ultrarunning.

photo

This year the 2013 Roclite 268, is one of the many shoes which received an update. In the past we have reviewed for the 2011 Roclite 268 and 2012 Roclite 268. The 2013 edition of the shoe has received a facelift.

 

TECH SPECS:

Screen Shot 2013-04-17 at 6.26.07 PMWeight: 268 Grams/9.5OZ

Footbed: 6mm

Heel/Toe Differential: 9mm

Sole: Roclite

Sex: Women’s (although the men’s shoe is very similar just heavier)

The notable changes, other than the color, in the shoe are the rubber toe bumper is back and offers more coverage than past models. Which is perfect when you get a little tired and catch yourself on a rock or two. As well the toe box seems to be a little bit roomier in their shoe. It seems after years of feedback from runners, commenting on how narrow most of the Inov-8 shoes are that the 2013 models offer a little more room in the toe box on many of their new models. Overall, the shoe seems to be a little more rugged, a bit more durable and all around the workhorse of the Inov-8 fleet of shoes. This is my go to shoe when it come to long runs, marathons and ultra marathons.

 

Field Tested

Screen Shot 2013-04-17 at 6.26.37 PMAfter a few short runs in the new Roclite 268’s I put them to the test a couple weekends ago in the Bonneville Shoreline Trail Marathon. Up to date I had probably only put about 30 miles on the shoes so they were still pretty new, and basically doubled the mileage in one run. The race was a mix of packed trails, rocky terrain, long ascents, steep descents, and a creek bed running. The new Roclite’s held up the beating and when I paired them with a pair of Drymax socks not only did my feet feel happy at the end but also were blister free, and ready for a run the next day.

 

Overall, the Roclite 268’s are one of my favorite training shoes, and trail racing shoes. If you are not as comfortable in minimal shoes this is the perfect hi-bred for you with a 9mm heel to toe drop, it gives you the extra cushioning you need, while still offering a light weight shoe.

Screen Shot 2013-04-17 at 6.26.50 PM

Margaret Schlachter

About Margaret Schlachter

Margaret Schlachter is Founder of DirtinYourSkirt.com. She has been part of the OCR Community since 2010. When not working on the next article she can be found running from race-to-race. She is Editor-in-Chief of MudRunGuide.com. She authored the book Obstacle Race Training.
This entry was posted in Gear Review. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gear Review – Inov-8 2013 Roclite 268

  1. Leigh Duquette says:

    how does water/mud drain out of these?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to posts:


  •   Hyper Vest SXY and FIT from Hyperwear.com
  • Instagram

    • Having fun providing @mudrunguide coverage at World’s Toughest Mudder. I am in love 😍 playing with my new lenses on my camera. Most of the photos are over on Facebook.
.
#wtm2018 #wtm #obstacleracing #toughmudder @tough_mudder
    • Made it to Atlanta to cover World’s Toughest Mudder. Every year I get nostalgic about the first year of WTM in 2011.
.
Can’t wait to cover the action for @mudrunguide. With the temps predicted in the 30’s overnight I excited to see how the new venue plays out.
.
Excited to get to work tomorrow.
.
#wtm #wtm2018 #toughmudder #obstaclecourseracing #mudrunguide #ocr #tbt
    • Have you heard of the online community @trail_sisters?
.
We have the story behind this huge movement encouraging more women’s voice in the outdoor industry and getting more women on the trails.
.
@ginalucrezi shared her passion and mission on this week’s podcast.
.
Temp Link in Bio
.
#podcast #trailsisters #womenwhotrailrun #findyourtribe #findyourtrail #womenrunning #allwomenalltrails #speakyourtruth #womenpodcast #getoutside #trailrunning #trailrunnersunite #runwithher
    • How many times as a kid did someone tell you to “take a deep breath” - if you are like me, a lot.
.
Breathing is essential to life and yet so much of the time we don’t breathe deeply. A couple years ago I did the @iceman_hof method course, documenting the journey.
.
Above the cold training and pushups the greatest gift after the course was a renewed focus on breathing and deep breaths.
.
Yet years later it’s so easy to forget. These days when stress levels are high or I have too much on my mind, I head out into nature and breathe.
.
Whether it’s getting my heart pounding on a run or slowing it down and focusing on deep breaths. It’s a simple and free self care technique that pays you back 10x.
.
When was the last time you truly took a deep breath?
.
#mondaytrailrun #trailtherapy #trailrunning #selfcare #justbreathe #speakyourtruth #utah #keepacoolhead #teamheadsweats #getoutside #goodr
    • This house took Halloween to the next level...
.
#houseon9th #jurassicpark #jurassicworld #halloween #lawnart #winewalk #vitamincommunity #saltlakecity #utahunique #epichalloween
    • Did you catch the new episode with @runningrosie released yesterday?
.
We had a raw, unfiltered conversation about motherhood, childbirth, body image, balance, competition, being a professional athlete, and life. Sounds heavy but as always we laughed along the way.
.
It was great having her back on the podcast 109 episodes after her first go around. If you missed the first time on the podcast talking about her childhood, check out episode 25.
.
#spartan #motherhood #nofilter #speakyourtruth #podcast #womeninspiringwomen #womenpodcasters #womeninpodcasting #ocr #obstaclecourseracing #obstacleracing #anw #friendship #spartanrace #realtalk💯
    • Fall means leaves changing, colder days, and the pond currently looks like a tea but makes some great reflections on a sunny day.
.
Sometimes there just isn’t time to get to the mountains but it doesn’t mean you can spend some time outside doing backyard chores.
.
#fallinlovewithfall #fall #winteriscoming #backyarddesign #pond #yardart #getoutside #loveyourspace #utahgram #hiddenspaces
    • Friends come in all shapes, sizes, and forms. One thing I’ve learned throughout the years is whether a friend is a next door neighbor you see everyday or someone you see once a year, it’s important to find those who have you back.
.
Sefra @puddyrara and I met in the woods of Vermont during the Peak 500. Little did I know the adventures we would embark on.
.
From the volcanos 🌋 of Nicaragua to Showing up during WTM in Vegas, stopping for an overnight in SLC, or outside Miami for a 24-hour BattleFrog (RIP). Or like this picture in Tahoe for the @spartan world championships.
.
I literally never know where in the world I will see her but I know we will have deep conversations about plants, seeds, life, spirit, and generally freak out everyone as they mostly have no idea what we are talking about.
.
Friends don’t have to be people you talk to or see daily. They just need to be your ally and have your back in a jam.
.
I’m lucky and blessed to be part of the slingshot mafia with this lady.
.
Blessing Sefra! Also I have no idea why this picture is so funny but it is to me.
.
#gratitude #friendship #blessings #spartanfriends #spartan #worldtraveling #worldwidefriends #speakyourtruth #findyourtribe #travelbuddies #spartanog #spartanwomen
    • One jar of trash a year for a family of four!
.
Sounds impossible at first but Bea Johnson of @zerowastehome is on the podcast to talk about how it’s not that hard. In fact Bea talks about how it frees up so many other aspects of life. So you can spend more time and money doing the thing you want while producing less waste in the world 🌎!
.
Do you think you could live in a zero-waste home?
.
Find the latest episode on your favorite player or link in my bio.
.
#zerowastehome #zerowaste #zerowasteliving #podcast #womenpodcasters #zerowastecollective  #podcastforwomen #minimalism #savetheplanet #savemotherearth #5rs #livelighter #onejarchallenge #reducereuserecycle #reducewaste #reduceplastic

    Follow Me!