NAVIGATION

Gear Review – Inov-8 2013 Roclite 268

Share

In 2013 Inov-8 has made a huge push in the running marketplace. They have revamped almost all their shoes it seems in the last year. It started during 2012 and is carrying over into 2013. We saw the introduction of the Trailroc line of trail running shoes as well as this year a new line of road running shoes. Inov-8 has gained a cult following in the Obstacle Course Racing world and already has roots embedded in trail and ultrarunning.

photo

This year the 2013 Roclite 268, is one of the many shoes which received an update. In the past we have reviewed for the 2011 Roclite 268 and 2012 Roclite 268. The 2013 edition of the shoe has received a facelift.

 

TECH SPECS:

Screen Shot 2013-04-17 at 6.26.07 PMWeight: 268 Grams/9.5OZ

Footbed: 6mm

Heel/Toe Differential: 9mm

Sole: Roclite

Sex: Women’s (although the men’s shoe is very similar just heavier)

The notable changes, other than the color, in the shoe are the rubber toe bumper is back and offers more coverage than past models. Which is perfect when you get a little tired and catch yourself on a rock or two. As well the toe box seems to be a little bit roomier in their shoe. It seems after years of feedback from runners, commenting on how narrow most of the Inov-8 shoes are that the 2013 models offer a little more room in the toe box on many of their new models. Overall, the shoe seems to be a little more rugged, a bit more durable and all around the workhorse of the Inov-8 fleet of shoes. This is my go to shoe when it come to long runs, marathons and ultra marathons.

 

Field Tested

Screen Shot 2013-04-17 at 6.26.37 PMAfter a few short runs in the new Roclite 268’s I put them to the test a couple weekends ago in the Bonneville Shoreline Trail Marathon. Up to date I had probably only put about 30 miles on the shoes so they were still pretty new, and basically doubled the mileage in one run. The race was a mix of packed trails, rocky terrain, long ascents, steep descents, and a creek bed running. The new Roclite’s held up the beating and when I paired them with a pair of Drymax socks not only did my feet feel happy at the end but also were blister free, and ready for a run the next day.

 

Overall, the Roclite 268’s are one of my favorite training shoes, and trail racing shoes. If you are not as comfortable in minimal shoes this is the perfect hi-bred for you with a 9mm heel to toe drop, it gives you the extra cushioning you need, while still offering a light weight shoe.

Screen Shot 2013-04-17 at 6.26.50 PM

Margaret Schlachter

About Margaret Schlachter

Margaret Schlachter is Founder of DirtinYourSkirt.com. She has been part of the OCR Community since 2010. When not working on the next article she can be found running from race-to-race. She is Editor-in-Chief of MudRunGuide.com. She authored the book Obstacle Race Training.
This entry was posted in Gear Review. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gear Review – Inov-8 2013 Roclite 268

  1. Leigh Duquette says:

    how does water/mud drain out of these?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to posts:


  •   Hyper Vest SXY and FIT from Hyperwear.com
  • Instagram

    • What do you know about curcumin? I was recently sent a sample from @vitacost
::
I wrote up a blog detailing some of the benefits that have been seen from curcumin for people in terms of inflammation and joint issues.
::
Like any supplement it’s good to do research and luckily I dig through a few scientific papers to help you make a decision if curcumin is a supplement you want to add to your diet.
::
#curcumininperfection #vitacostvip #productreview #sponsoredpost
    • Spent a bunch of today trying to crush the @salmingrunning  OT Comp for a review on @mudrunguide not a bad day when you get to spend time in the woods, run, and capture footage.
::
#mountainviews #mountainrunning #mudrunguide #geartesting #salmingrunning @salmingrunningnorthamerica
    • New podcast out today with @enagoski we talk about the science behind sexual health.
::
I adore Emily’s work and so happy to have been able to interview her!
::
#podcasts #podcastersofinstagram #womenhelpingwomen #womenpodcast #womensexualhealth #healthysexuality #scienceofsex #emilynagoski
    • Before the rain clouds rolled in... now that it’s springtime/nearly summer I try to work outside as much as possible.
::
I am super fortunate to be able to work from home. While it can be lonely at times and even isolating it also is a gift to make my workspace my own wherever I want it to be.
::
It’s so easy to forget the gifts we have when they become our norm. Sometimes I have to step back and realize how fortunate I am for the freedom.
::
#thankfulngrateful #homeofficelife #medialife #outsideoffice #mudrunguide #ocrmedia #createyourreality #abundancemindset #superniceclub
    • Nature has a way of being so unreal at times with its beauty.
::
The power and grace leave you speechless.
::
#mothernature #getoutside #powerofnature #gaiam #natureheals #naturepic #latergram
    • I’ve been waiting for over a year for @michael.pollan new book to be released. I have been telling everyone I know that this book will be a game changer much like The Omnivore’s Dilemma.
::
100 pages in and I have wanted to cosmically hug Pollan so many times for brining this information and stories to light.
::
This book offers a profound insight into a world that many of us have experienced and not many can but the words to it.
::
Part historical, part first-hand experiences, and all with that famous Pollan storytelling flair.
::
Bravo Mr. Pollan and thank you 🙏
::
#howtochangeyourmind #michaelpollan #bookstagram #weekendreading #elevateyourmind
    • Run 🏃🏻‍♀️ Fish 🎣Run 🏃🏻‍♀️
::
A different way to earn your dinner 🍴
::
🧔🏼🐾🐾
#utahhiking #runfishrun #headsweatsambassador #headsweats #keepacoolhead #familytime❤️ #weekendadventure #earnyourview #earnyourdinner #fishinggirls #americanforkcanyon #inov_8 #utahtrails #utahtrailrunning #utahtrailgirls #getoutsideandplay
    • More prototypes from @meanmugspotteryco - the same color glaze on each only one is a half dip and the other a full dip.
::
Half or Full?
::
Love sharing this process with the entire DIYS community!
::
#meanmugspottery #mugswithmeaning #prototypes #womenownedbusinesses #handmademugs #madeinutah #slc
    • The prototypes are in for the Dirt in Your Skirt mugs by @meanmugspotteryco
::
Weigh in and tell me what you think. Does one glaze stand out to you?
::
If you aren’t psyched about any let me know and we can try other glazed.
::
The women at Mean Mugs Pottery Co are awesome and so cool to work with. They let me stop by each step of the process and I will be documenting the production of the final product! And having them on the podcast.
::
But let me know what you think...
::
#handmademug #womensupportingwomen #womenownedbusiness #dirtinyourskirt #prototypes #meanmugs #mugswithmeaning #madewithpassion #womenhelpingwomenwin

    Follow Me!